Course construction at Yering Meadows adopted the use of stakes (yellow & red) to define our water hazards (now known as penalty areas).

Whilst every effort has been made to ensure stakes are correctly placed, the following image is an example where this is clearly not the case.  This ball is deemed to be within the penalty area so NO claim can be made by the player for casual water relief.

Figure 1: This ball on the 8th hole is lying in the penalty area (hazard), not in casual water.

Q: Stakes defining the margin of a water hazard were improperly installed. As a result, an area which clearly was part of the water hazard was outside the stakes and, thus, technically was outside the hazard. A player’s ball came to rest in water in this area. The player claimed that, in view of the alignment of the stakes, his ball was in casual water through the green. Was the claim valid?

A: No. The Committee erred in not properly defining the margin of the hazard as required, but a player is not entitled to take advantage of such an error. Since it was clear that the place where the player’s ball lay was within the natural boundaries of the water hazard, the claim should not be upheld.